The sun is shining and detecting deals are heating up!
Shop All Spring Bundles

Metal Detector Reviews

One of the top questions we receive at Kellyco is: which metal detector should I buy? Read over thousands of our metal detector reviews written by real customers to help you find the best metal detector or accessories. See below for more metal detector reviews.

Set Ascending Direction
  1. <
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. 5
  7. >
Kellyco Kellyco Gloves for Metal Detecting Review by Nathan (Posted on April 7, 2021)
★★★★★
Kellyco Gloves for Metal Detecting

Great quality gloves. They just don't fit my large hands. If you're tall and have larger than the average person's hands, chances are they will be tight.

View Product Page

Minelab Minelab 12V Gel Cell Auto Charger (GPX / SD Series) Review by Doug (Posted on April 6, 2021)
★★★★★
Minelab Auto Charger 12v Gel Cell (SD / GPX Series) 03020023 Image 1

It might help to clarify "12V Gel Cell Auto Charger" refers only to *input* source voltage (such as plugging into a vehicle 12V source). From the specs above, someone might get the idea this only charges 12V Gel Cell's instead of 6V Gel Cell's for Minelab GPX/SD series detectors. The only place 6V is mentioned, is the label on the charger itself.

View Product Page

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pinpointer Review by Dewey (Posted on April 1, 2021)
★★★★★
Bounty Hunter Pinpointer BHPIN Image 1

I got this pin pointer as party of a Bounty Hunter Land Star complete kit. I thought I would never use it. However, I was new to metal detectors. This has become the 2nd most used piece I own. This is not a magic wand. It's entire function is to do exactly what people are complaining about. It detects the object when you're right on top of it. Thus the name...pin point. If you'd like something with a slightly larger range to help find things, I can say that a security hand wand will work for that. I use one myself sometimes before moving to the pin pointer.

View Product Page

Bounty Hunter Bounty Hunter Pinpointer Review by Dewey (Posted on April 1, 2021)
★★★★★
Bounty Hunter Pinpointer BHPIN Image 1

I got this pin pointer as party of a Bounty Hunter Land Star complete kit. I thought I would never use it. However, I was new to metal detectors. This has become the 2nd most used piece I own. This is not a magic wand. It's entire function is to do exactly what people are complaining about. It detects the object when you're right on top of it. Thus the name...pin point. If you'd like something with a slightly larger range to help find things, I can say that a security hand wand will work for that. I use one myself sometimes before moving to the pin pointer.

View Product Page

Minelab Minelab Vanquish 340 Metal Detector Review by Jbry (Posted on March 31, 2021)
★★★★★
Minelab Vanquish 340 Metal Detector shown in full view from Kellyco Metal Detectors

The best budget detector out there right now since the Tesoro Compadre

View Product Page

Omega Mill OmegaMill Relic Elite Metal Detecting Finds Pouch Review by Matt (Posted on March 19, 2021)
★★★★★

I ordered this product because it says it fits a 48 inch waist. I am 42 in the waist and it just barely fits me. I like the bag but I rarely use it because it is tight and has no more adjustment.

View Product Page

Kellyco Kellyco Sifter Finds Pouch for Metal Detecting Review by Guest (Posted on March 18, 2021)
★★★★★
Kellyco Sifter Finds Pouch (New Logo 7.24.20)

Great pouch with a lot of room. I love the mesh on the bottom because all the dirt falls out.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro Simplex+ Metal Detector with Wireless Headphones Review by Bulldog detecting (Posted on March 17, 2021)
★★★★★
Nokta Makro Simplex+ Metal Detector with Wireless Headphones from Kellyco Metal Detectors

Target I’d is spot on depth is great a won’t be sorry machine the price is outstanding works like my 700,00dollar machine great product

View Product Page

Quest Quest Scuba Tector Pro (Orange) Review by Jane (Posted on March 15, 2021)
★★★★★
Quest Scuba Tector Pro Orange

On opening the compact box, the first thing you see is a smart looking orange and black coloured folded mini detector. I dug down and found some additional surprises in the box, none of which seem to have been listed on any website (including the Quest site), apart from the included USB-C cable to charge the battery. Surprises included: a coil cover - an extendable coiled lanyard to secure the detector to a diving belt – a second lanyard to attach to your wrist for beach and shallow water detecting – a bag containing two 'O' seals and plastic pieces, (most of which I have yet to figure out what they are for) – a plastic adaptor which screws on to the top of the detector handle into which you can fit a rod – a nice Quest bag for carrying the detector – Quest stickers, along with their 2020 catalogue and a card indicating the serial number of the detector for warranty purposes. No manual is included apart from a piece of cardboard which forms part of the packaging of the box which has illustrative diagrams with arrows indicating how to turn it on, the boost and mode button and recharge point.

I immediately charged the battery to full capacity (lasts 14 hours), and made myself a rod out of a cast-off hiking trekking pole as this lady of 62 prefers not to be bent double when searching! I attached the rod to the detector with the plastic adaptor but the rod wiggled a bit as it was not the same diameter as the adaptor. One thing that is great is that as the trekking pole is metal, I could still use the vibrate mode rather than the audible alarm. I then headed to the local freshwater streams.

The machine is superb, very versatile and so much fun to use! The orange handle is 9 inches long and the oblong coil is 9.75 inches by 3.50 inches wide. On my very first search in the stream it alerted me to something near a rock (a large old bolt). It can access small crevices in rocks and is very easy to flip around and maneuver. I tested it on a gold ring which it found at a depth of 4 inches. The buzzer alert is not loud enough especially when searching near rushing water which is where the vibrate alert comes in so well. Of course it is a small light machine and when folded up (so neat!), fits easily into a backpack.

A few points to consider:
• After 2 hours of constant detecting in cold melted-snow water, the rod adaptor broke. Quest does not have the adaptor listed as an accessory (in fact the accessory list on their website is blank). Kellyco stepped in though and saved the day (they really are awesome).
• You will need to make your own rod as none are available yet from Quest.
• No “interchangeable search coil” is listed or available.
• No manual is included or available.

HOWEVER, this mini detector is definitely worth buying and worth waiting for the items mentioned above from Quest. Have fun!

View Product Page

Garrett Garrett ACE Apex Metal Detector with Viper Coil Review by DirtHole Digger (Posted on March 11, 2021)
★★★★★
Garrett ACE Apex Metal Detector Assembled on Top of Manufacturer's Box on White Background

About the Apex metal detector with the viper coil used today for the first time found my first stinking Lincoln in my front yard with one inch snow on the ground. Kelly Cole thank you for your advice on this metal detector I'm sure I have many more fines thank you dirt hole digger

View Product Page

  1. <
  2. 1
  3. 2
  4. 3
  5. 4
  6. 5
  7. >