Don't Forget About Our Military Discounts:
Garrett Military Discount. Minelab Military Discount.

Metal Detector Reviews

One of the top questions we receive at Kellyco is: which metal detector should I buy? Read over thousands of our metal detector reviews written by real customers to help you find the best metal detector or accessories. See below for more metal detector reviews.

Set Ascending Direction
Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro SP22 DD 8.5" Black Search Coil (for Simplex+) Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Nokta Makro SP22 DD Search Coil 8.5

This coil works great. After some field testing it and using it for a couple months I have figured out that it will easily pick up a coin-size object about 8-9 inches easy with a consistent tone on the Simplex. This coil is great in parks and yards where there is lots of trash in the ground.
Super fast shipping by Kellyco as always.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro 2.4GHz Wireless Headphones - Green Edition Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Nokta Makro 2.4GHz Wireless Headphones - Green Edition

When I first bought my simplex I did not buy these wireless headphones. But then I got tired of dealing with a wired set that I had.
Man I really like these. They are easy to sync to the Simplex. And even better, they can also pair to the PulseDive when I am using it as a pinpointer!
The battery life in these last more than 20 hrs by my field testing. That’s easily two days of digging without recharging! That’s great!
The shipping was fast as always.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro Waterproof Headphones (Kruzer Series / Simplex) Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Waterproof Headphones (KRUZER Series)

I have these for my Simplex. The Simplex has a volume control on it, and is very handy when under water. I have had these phones completely submerged while I was finding targets in beach areas of the lakes near my house. These headphones are comfortable and have great sound.
In the winter these would be great for keeping your ears warm while digging in the cold weather.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro 13.5x12.5" SP35 Search Coil Black (Simplex) Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Nokta Makro 13.5x12.5

Wow is all I can say! This coil is a BEAST and can penetrate the ground to get those deep targets without a problem.
I have already found targets that the stock coil or 22 or 24 coils would not pick up.
I even found my water line with it in the front yard that was 15 inches down! Thankfully I didn’t bust it as I dug down lol.
It is a little bit heavier than the stock coil, which can make for a tiresome day of swinging it.
If you can get past the added few ounces in weight, and if you want to go deeper and pick up more targets than any other coil can reach, then get this coil.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro 8-inch Scuba Coil for Pulsedive Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Black 8

This coil is awesome! I love using it to find treasure in the lakes near my house. I like that this coil is bigger than the standard coil. It covers more ground and is still very accurate in locating a target in the sand or silt.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro Simplex+ Metal Detector with Headphones Review by On The Gold (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Nokta Makro Simplex+ Metal Detector with Wireless Headphones shown in full side profile With Hat Headphones and SP24 Coil on White Background

I bought the Nokta Simplex to have an all terrain detector and it’s definitely that. It’s not small and it’s heavier than my Tesoro so that took some getting used to but build quality is really nice and I’d say that is worth the price alone. Everything is well thought like the shaft design and lock levers, the screen layout is simple and free of things you don’t need. It collapses down to be easily carried and overall it feels like you’re holding something much more expensive. The tone quality is good and has a nice fade on deep targets and I like the wireless headphones but it’s even better wired up to a pair of SunRays. I don’t pay much attention to the VDI numbers but they seem accurate enough. You tend to dig many bottle caps that come up as quarters though. I tend to leave it on field mode as that seems to be the purest unmodulated sound. The Simplex has a nice balance of depth and separation and both DD coils are adept at slicing through trash. This detector can be ‘chatty’ around any EMI and interferes with pro pointers so I just use the mute feature. If I was to suggest anything it would be to make the handle angle pivot so you can adjust it for better ergonomics or to collapse it down. Also make the arm cuff width adjustable as at times it seems narrow.

Overall a great machine. Nice work Nokta!

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro Premium Sand Scoop 3-in-1 Set Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Nokta Makro Premium Sand Scoop 3-in-1 Set

This scoop has so many options, and they are all great. I mainly use it with the extended handle for detecting in the water and on the shore. This scoop is durable and does great sifting dry or wet sand. The only thing that I’ve had trouble with it catching is a stud earring that falls through the grating. But it will capture any ring or coin no problem.
It is a little heaving at the business end, but is not a problem dragging around behind me in the sand or holding it in the water.
I like how it can be broken down to small pieces for ease of packing in a suitcase for travel.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro Stainless Steel 31.5" to 38" Serrated Edge T-Handle Premium Shovel Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★
Silver Nokta Makro Premium T-Handle Shovel on White Background

This is an interesting shovel because it is adjustable. Not many other shovels have that option. It’s great for a young person who is short and also for a tall person. Just a quick adjustment and it’s ready to be used by anyone.
It’s a sturdy shovel, well-made for cutting through roots or hard-packed clay. The only thing that is not so great is the weight. With the shovel completely extended for y’all folks, the business end of the shovel can be heavy. But using it in its short-adjustment the weight is better distributed and balanced.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro Lower Shaft - Black (Simplex) Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★

This shaft will totally fix the Simplex from any movement or wobble when swinging it. It is a must-have if you own the Simplex. This shaft is really effective when swinging in taller than normal grass, or in the water. Great product, and fast shipping by Kellyco.

View Product Page

Nokta | Makro Nokta Makro Premium Digger Review by Southern Relics (Posted on November 2, 2021)
★★★★★

I bought this digger over a year ago, and I have never had one issue with it. I have dug in gravel, ground full of roots, and also in hard-packed red clay. This digger tool is still as solid as it was the day I bought it! The grip is super comfy and the measuring marks on the blade is handy when I am gauging how deep my target is.
Fast shipping as always by our Kellyco friends.

View Product Page