You have no items in your cart.

Metal Detector Reviews


One of the top questions we receive at Kellyco is: which metal detector should I buy? Read over thousands of our metal detector reviews written by real customers to help you find the best metal detector or accessories. See below for more metal detector reviews.

Reviews 1 to 10 of 1259 total

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 126
Garrett Pro Pointer II Review
by David (Posted on 3/24/2017)
Garrett Pro-Pointer II 1166050 Image 1 So much better than the original Pro Pointer! Excellent depth and stability. The original Garrett Pro Pointer was not stable and went into "chatter mode" continually. (If you plan to take the original pin pointer apart for cleaning, make sure you remove the on-off button first - the switch will break otherwise). I may just buy a backup Pin Pointer II instead of repairing the original one.

View Product Page

JW Fishers CT-1 Cable Tracker Metal Detector Review
by Frank (Posted on 3/24/2017)
JW Fishers CT-1 Cable Tracker CT1 Image 1 We used this item for the local power company and it was spot on. We had a survey company conduct GPS markings and after 3 of the 12 days on the job they said our readings were in a straight line and on point with the line from point A to B which is 2 miles long. I will buy more products from JW Fisher.

View Product Page

Garrett Z-Lynk Wireless Headphone System Review
by Wurst (Posted on 3/23/2017)
Garrett Z-Lynk Wireless System Image 1 Something that has always annoyed me, is being tethered to my detector by the headphone cord. Well, that and the dorky large headphones. This nifty device solves for both of my annoyances.
I'd been mulling over setting up some Rube Goldberg contraption to go wireless with my AT Pro, but wasn't excited about all the pieces and parts required to make it happen. Then along comes Garrett Z-Lynk to save the day!
Obviously its new to market, so not a lot of practical review information available. I took a chance, and it was soooo worth it.
I've only had it a couple weeks, but I feel like I'm detecting with a new machine.
Old habits die hard, and I initially found myself setting the detector uncomfortably close to me when digging. Then it dawned on me... I can put it wherever the hell I want. Woo hoo!
Just as liberating; no more 1970's style headphones, and hello earbuds! Like hitting the lottery twice. To add icing to the cake, it has a volume adjustment, so no more blasting of the eardrums (something I can't believe they don't have as a function on the AT Pro)
The receiver and transmitter are both reasonably sized and durably made.
After fully charging they've lasted several long outings in 40 degree temps.
The response time is as near instantaneous as I can tell. The moment you go over the target is the moment you hear it. Crisp and clear.
Maybe not as big a deal for folks using detectors with the 1/4" jack, but with the AT Pro its a hack process to get to earbuds because of the goofy AT Pro connector. Piece of cake with this (although you have to buy the optional AT Pro transmitter connector).
All in all, it seems to be a great wireless system - allowing you to use whatever you want for headphones.
I'm diggin' it (pun intended).

View Product Page

Garrett ACE 150 Metal Detector Review
by Cointracker (Posted on 3/19/2017)
Garrett Ace 150 1138070 Image 1 Had ACE 150 for three weeks now. Found some coins and relics with it. At first I had purchased as a way for my son and I to get off the couch and introduce him to a new hobby, so a beginner machine was ideal for us. After testing it on coins down to eight inches or so, I would say we are surprised how deep it goes. Just keep in mind max sensitivity on all metal mode is required, and you will get an iron tone. That said, I think it will be fine on the beach and the parks and less trashy sites. I saw a review where this model beat out a much more expensive model by a different manufacturer, so I feel it deserves a great review having researched and field tested the unit. I look forward to continuing to put the ACE 150 through the paces.

View Product Page

Garrett AT Pro Metal Detector Review
by David (Posted on 3/11/2017)
Garrett AT Pro The assembly of the detector was a little difficult - the waterproof plugs require good lighting and flexible fingers. Other than that, using the AT Pro was a pleasant experience. After viewing the CD video twice, I went immediately into Pro Mode. The depth and separation were amazing. I found a gold ring the first day out in an area that I detected many times with my ACE 350. I also found coins at 8" + depths (especially dimes) that my ACE 350 didn't detect. There is one caveat - you must dig deeper holes ! The trash discrimination is also very good with the AT Pro in Pro Mode. I can't wait for the weather to warm up here around Pittsburgh. I also use the Garrett Pin Pointer II - much more stable than the original pin pointer. The AT Pro is a cut above the ACE series detectors and is worth the extra dollars.

View Product Page

Keene High Production Hand Sluice (A52) Review
by Kurt (Posted on 3/6/2017)
Keene High Production Hand Sluice 52 Image 1 I have been prospecting for over 20 years and during those 20 years I have used the Keene A52 Hand Sluice and I always recommend them to fellow prospectors. The Keene A52 Hand Sluice is very durable and easy to use.

View Product Page

White's Signature Series Utility Pouch Review
by Edval (Posted on 3/2/2017)
White's Signature Series Utility Pouch 6011264 Image 1 The new White's finds pouch is the perfect pouch. The mesh bottom and extra pockets make this the best deal for the money on the internet. The wider belt and rugged construction make this a must have. For the record I own three metal detectors none of which are a White's. I also have the White's hand digger. White's has hit a homerun with these two items.

View Product Page

Lesche Model 38 Shovel Review
by Jer (Posted on 2/28/2017)
Lesche Model 38 Shovel 38 Image 1 I really enjoy this shovel way more than any other one I've owned in my years of detecting! A detectorist having The 38 is like Conan the Barbarian having his " Fathers Sword "... Cuts through thick grass and roots leaving smooth plugs. Which is always a great thing if you're detecting someone's yard... Nice and Neat! I even went to stick the shovel in what I thought was just some smooth dirt ground and slammed it into a large underground rock. Not a single chip or dent in The 38! ONLY problem I have about using the shovel is that my AT Pro goes crazy if this shovel is anywhere near 4 to 5 ft. So with that problem I just stick it in the ground until I find an item to dig. I do this from hole to hole and I have no problems with interference. I guess the plus is that I now have a free hand while walking. Just when you're digging a large open field don't forget to go back and get it every 10 or so yards because before you know it you'll get a hit to dig and the shovel will be 50+ yards behind you...

View Product Page

Lesche 28" Ground Shark T-Handle Shovel Review
by Edward (Posted on 2/24/2017)
Lesche 28 Very well made and does the job better than any other I have ever used.

View Product Page

NEL Attack 15" Search Coil (Garrett AT Pro) Review
by Jeff (Posted on 2/17/2017)
NEL Attack 15 Ok I'm already impressed, after only 3 hours of use. I bought it here and everything went perfectly. Fast shipping and packed well.
I was excited to test it, like everyone would I did an air test on a dime, quarter, gold ring and a really really fine gold chain. I would guess it did 1-2 inches better than the stock coil. I was not that impressed but hunting in the field was definitely different. Amazingly different! I wanted to hunt an area I hunted well over and over. A place where many many people have hammered it. Well guess what three wheaties, all over 12" (one at 15") then a 1911 D beautiful Barber at 16" and an out of place silver Georgia VI at 15". A great start to a new coil.
Well now with the good, some bad, but not much, might be me or my error. Ground balanced at 1/2 sensitivity then I would move to 1 bar short, but a couple of times I would have to reset because of chatter and a iron audio sound? Then I found just reset it to factory and run with it, settings pro audio 25 iron discrimination and 1 shy of full sensitivity. Gets heavy to swing after a while but other than that goes frikin deep. Heavy mineralized soil. I guess I will be keeping it.
My set up is the AT Pro, wireless Deteknix headphones, and the Attack Coil by NEL.

View Product Page

Reviews 1 to 10 of 1259 total

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 126
Garrett Metal Detectors
Minelab Metal Detectors
White's Metal Detectors
Nokta Metal Detectors
Makro Metal Detectors
Teknetics Metal Detectors
Fisher Metal Detectors
Tesoro Metal Detectors
Treasure Commander Metal Detectors
Aqua Scan Metal Detectors
Bounty Hunter Metal Detectors
See All Metal Detectors