You have no items in your cart.

Metal Detector Reviews


One of the top questions we receive at Kellyco is: which metal detector should I buy? Read over thousands of our metal detector reviews written by real customers to help you find the best metal detector or accessories. See below for more metal detector reviews.

Reviews 1 to 10 of 1302 total

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 131
Fisher F75 Metal Detector Review
by James B (Posted on 12/5/2017)
Fisher F75 Image 1 Very pleased and happy with my F75 I've had it for about a year and I've recovered a bunch of silver coins, a gold ring and lots of relics... now it's time for a upgrade and to get a bigger coil.

View Product Page

Detech 15x12" SEF Butterfly Search Coil (White's V3I / VX3 / MXT / M6 / MX5 / DFX) Review
by Joe (Posted on 11/30/2017)
Detech 15x12 This coil is awesome, never comes off my V3i. It will work in high trash areas, just got to go slower. Finding nickels to 9”, IHP to 9 in. Coil will separate and ID beautifully. No problems at all just wish Whites had a setting for it.

View Product Page

Minelab Excalibur II with 10 Metal Detector Review
by Robert (Posted on 11/25/2017)
Minelab Excalibur II 33030106 Image 1 I bought my first Excalibur in 1994 and I still use it today along with 4 others I own. I am now retired and am on the beaches of Florida detecting with my Excaliburs four to five days week. So far this month (NOV 2017) I have found 580 coins, a working watch, small gold ring, matching his and hers tungsten wedding bands, costume ring, 9 fishing sinkers, 3 sunglasses, 6 keys, 9 fishing sinkers, 4 earrings, and assorted odds and ends. The Excalibur is a rugged well built detector with a couple of minor faults that can be corrected by the owner of the machine. I have used my detectors on the beaches of Long Island NY, Myrtle Beach SC, Galveston TX, Venice and Santa Monica beach CA and a dozen Florida beaches. Also in Mexico, Dominican Republic, St Lucia, and Jamaica. Every beach where I used the Excalibur it worked great. My monthly finds are equal too or better than finds members of my club display at our monthly meetings using more expensive detectors. With 25 years of using the Excalibur I have to look back at the great finds I have made on the beaches that are locked up in a safe deposit box to realize that this is the greatest hobby one could have. As a note my wife is very happy wearing many of the finds I have brought home. I gave up fishing to use my Excaliburs and my wife doesn't yell at me any more for storing worms in the refrigerator and having bloody bait and fish smelling clothes in the hamper.

View Product Page

Quest Q20 Metal Detector Review
by Marc (Posted on 11/20/2017)
Quest Q20 Metal Detector I happened to be in the Orlando area last week and stopped in the Kellyco store with my Grandkids. I was looking for a detector for them that would be easy to use and still had features that were beyond a basic detector. The store had just received the Q20 and after looking it over and seeing it's features decided to purchase one. We took it to the beach the next day. I think you'd be hard pressed to find a waterproof detector that ground balances and works well on the beach for less. Target IDs were consistent on coins up to 6-7 inches deep. The kids (who had no previous MDing experience) quickly became comfortable with the detector's operation and were able to identify many targets before digging by tone and target ID. Overall the unit is very well made. The built in USB cable rechargeable battery was a plus and the quick adjustable shaft made it easy to accommodate the kids and my height. I think anyone who wants to get into detecting or wants a well-made, low cost detector for beach or park detecting and that has features found on more expensive machines would be pleased with the Q20! Thanks to the guys in the Kellyco store for their help and patience with our purchase.

View Product Page

Tesoro Silver uMax Metal Detector Review
by Robert (Posted on 11/18/2017)
Tesoro Silver uMax Metal Detector SUMAX Image 1 I have one and it is my go to machine, I use the small coil and have found coins 12 in. deep, in trashy areas. Very easy to use and the battery lasts forever!! Highly recommended for first machine.

View Product Page

Garrett AT Max with Z-Lynk Metal Detector Review
by Scot (Posted on 11/10/2017)
Garrett AT Max with Z-Lynk I just received my AT Max on November 1, 2017 and all I can say is WOW!! I was using an AT Pro which I love. I knew it was going to be hard to beat in this price range but so far the Max has. On my second day using it I found my first large cent. I have only been detecting since March 2017 and mostly park hunt. I went to an old park that’s been hit to death. The Max had no problem picking it out between trash at 9”.

It’s a different animal than the AT Pro. It’s going to be a learning curve but I can already see that it’s worth it. The wireless headphones are amazing. I fully charged them when I opened the box and a week later they still do not need charged. I have the Z-Lynk system for my AT Pro and fell in love with it. However not having any wires is great. I’ve paced off 50 steps from my detector and didn’t lose the connection.

The machine is hyper sensitive. If you’re moving up from a Pro or Ace series it will seem noisy and scratchy at first. Take the time to play with it and adjusting it. I usually ran my AT Pro in Pro Zero, no iron disc and full sensitivity. You do not need to run the Max that wide open. I have in cleaner ground, but where I live my machines usually ground balance between 85-89. By turning down the sensitivity 2 bars and on some occasions reducing my threshold to (-2) the Machine runs on rails. Again you will need to experiment and find what works for you.

The backlight feature has already payed off with the time change. It’s allowed me to extend my hunts.

We will be snowed in soon here but I’m already excited about next spring. Stevie Ray has helped me with not only the purchase of my AT Max but also my AT Pro. He’s very knowledgeable on both detectors and I highly recommend asking for him if you have questions. He’s a great guy and willing to take time to answer all of you questions.

If you’re looking for a detector that will pump up your confidence and finds, look no further than the AT Max.

View Product Page

Anderson Rods Arm Cuff (Minelab E-Series) Review
by Kevin M. (Posted on 11/10/2017)
Anderson Rods Anderson Minelab Explorer Arm Cuff 0925 Image 1 Nice replacement for the flimsy stock arm cuff.

View Product Page

Teknetics T2 Classic Metal Detector Review
by Sandy (Posted on 11/9/2017)
Teknetics T2 Metal Detector T2 Image 1 I'm pretty new to metal detecting and have gone through several detectors trying to find one that fits my area (New England) well. I got a great deal on a Tesoro Tigershark and couldn't say no at the price. Great detector, deep and sensitive, but not right for an area that's been settled since the 1700's since it has no display to give an idea of what you might be digging (anybody who wants to buy some rusty horseshoe nails, let me know). So I picked up a Fisher F2. I figured "this one has a display, now I'll really be able to go out and slay it coin shooting!". Well, yes and no. I was better able to identify what I was digging, but I missed A LOT of stuff. The F2 just wasn't very sensitive, and the depth wasn't great either. I dug a lot less trash than with the Tesoro, but the only targets that were certain to be what it said were 4" or less.
Enter the Teknetics T2 Classic. I've been REALLY happy with this detector. First time out in my backyard, which I've THRASHED with my other detectors, I found a silver Roosevelt at 8". It's kinda like the three bears; the Tesoro was deep enough, but couldn't tell the trash from the treasure. The Fisher knew the difference but couldn't see the treasure. The Teknetics T2 Classic knows the difference between trash and treasure, and can see deep enough to find the good stuff. Any new equipment always takes a while to get used to, and I've still only got about 50 hours on the T2 so far, so I'm not an expert by any means. Even so, it's opened up new areas that I'm able to detect. The "frequency shift" feature (or whatever it's really called) opened areas up near power lines that were impossible to detect before. Ground cancelling goes quickly and smoothly, and customizing the settings is easy and intuitive.
The only real downside I can see to this detector is that it's not waterproof. Not a huge deal since it's too damn cold to go swimming most of the year anyway, but there are some swimming holes I really wish I could check out. My buddy, who owns a Garrett AT Pro, tried to lord that over me. It's true enough, but since he hasn't taken his underwater in the whole time he's owned it I figure it's a non issue. I also pointed out that he's been detecting for years longer than I have, has more experience on his machine, AND bought a Nel coil, yet when we go detecting together in the same area it's a coin flip who's going to do better for the day. Anyhow, it's a great machine. I would say that if you decide to buy it that you should spend a little extra and get the accessory bundle too. The smaller coil makes picking targets out of trash clutter easier, the dust cover is useful, but most of all the batteries and charger will pay for the whole deal before very long. Most of the stuff included in the bundle is useful (who can't use an extra backpack and dump bag?) but the small coil, batteries, and charger would be worth the money alone. The only real downside is that headphones need to be purchased separately. I know they gotta make their money somewhere, but how about adding an adaptor to accessory bundle so that I can run what I got, and keeping the ball cap? I bet that folks who need a hat can find one in their closet, but very few have headphone adaptors laying around.
All in all, with the accessory bundle, it's a really nice set up for less than $700 that easily competes with machines costing much more, and will probably save you money in the long run, and if you're lucky might make you some too.

View Product Page

Garrett Soft Case Universal Digital Camo Detector Bag Review
by David (Posted on 11/3/2017)
Garrett Soft Case Universal Detector Bag 1616901 Image 1 I bought this with my first detector, and I love it. All my stuff fits in it and you can carry it all on your back. Great when hiking long distances. Just bought another detector, guess I'll get the same bag for it.

View Product Page

Garrett AT Pro Metal Detector Review
by Terry (Posted on 10/21/2017)
Garrett AT Pro 1140460 Image 1 I have to say it's a good metal detector. I'm still learning to use it, but not bad for my third time out, 2 Mercury Head Dimes and 3 Wheat Back Pennies. I have also found a lot of other newer coins. I can't complain.

View Product Page

Reviews 1 to 10 of 1302 total

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 131
Garrett Metal Detectors
Minelab Metal Detectors
White's Metal Detectors
Nokta Metal Detectors
Makro Metal Detectors
Teknetics Metal Detectors
Fisher Metal Detectors
Tesoro Metal Detectors
Quest Metal Detectors
Aqua Scan Metal Detectors
Bounty Hunter Metal Detectors
Ground EFX Metal Detectors
OKM Metal Detectors
See All Metal Detectors